Friday, November 23, 2012

Free Math Webinar!

Teaching with Math Tasks: 8th Grade Classroom
Featuring Travis Lemon and Curtis Linton

Tuesday, November 27, 2012
2:00 PM ET | 1:00 PM CT | 12:00 PM MT | 11:00 AM PT

Junior high math teacher Travis Lemon will talk about using math tasks to embed direct instruction within a context of exploration and inquiry. During this webinar, we will observe video footage of Travis Lemon's class at American Fork Junior High as they work in small groups to solve a real-world problem using linear equations. Travis asks his class to find the most cost-effective way for a man to have his furnace fixed given the variable of three different repair company cost structures. This math task is aligned with Common Core Math Standard 8.EE.8.

To save your seat

No comments:

Post a Comment